Art openings and events for Jan. 2010

Jene and I took my grand daughters to MoMa (Tim Burton exhibit) over the X-mas school break. Talk about filled to the rafters. The lines were everywhere. We had to pick up our tickets at the information desk , the woman started to direct me back to another line before I realized that she wasn’t listening to what I was saying. Oh, yes… here are your 4 tickets. Jene pretty much said it all in his blog and I’ll link you to his Fuzzypictures Weblog. Jene is a tad jaded, and for anyone who frequented the old MoMa you will probably feel his pain.

Five of my images are currently exhibited at Barking Lizards Gallery in the Williamsburg section of Brooklyn. So if you are in the neighborhood. They are also carrying some of my earrings and necklaces. So think ahead for Valentine’s Day. They are located on the corner of N4th St and Bedford Avenue. 231 Bedford Ave. It’s is worth the trip. One short stop away from Manhattan on the L train.

Emmanuel Fremin Gallery’s new group exhibit “Blinding” opens on Friday Jan. 15th. The artist reception starts 6:30. It is a group show and I will admit I wish I was a part of it. Maybe another time or place. But Jene & I are exciting about the show and meeting some of the artists. And it’s always a pleasure to chat with Emmanuel and his ever-so-lovely Mary. They just got back from VietNam, Saigon, Cambodia, Japan trip. The photos they posted make me want to get back to that side of the world SOON!

Art Connection 6 – The George Segal Gallery at Montclair State Univ. is hosting its 6th annual fundraiser and special exhibit. This is a jury selected exhibit and artists from all over submit their works. It’s a rather large event with over 100 artist in the show and I do feel honored to have been selected. My 19 x 13″ print is the 3rd in the limited edition of 25. The price will increase after the 5th print is sold.

Students in Serenity has sold to a woman connected to the show The Real Housewives of NYC, who scooped it up at Soho in Hoho Gallery (inside Granny’s Attic) in Hohokus, NJ just moments after Maury hung the series of images. The 2nd ltd. print went to a collector at the FWAB fundraising event in Tenafly, NJ.

Just to let you in on the story behind the photo – we were at the river across from the Palace in Phnom Pehn. These boys who look so angelic in their monks attire, had just finished teasing the boy (2nd from the right). The ones flanking him wore slight sheepish looks on their faces – like they just swallowed the canary. They all agreed that I could take their photo but didn’t know if they should pose.

Anyway, I hope it sells. I am donating 15% of my profit from the sale of the print to the Angkor Hospital for Children. A worthy cause. I do that will all the images in my Cambodia – Past and Present Tense body of works. My way of giving back through art and helping to support Kenro Izu’s dream.

1995 (quoted from http://www.kenroizu.com/html/profile.html)
During a photography series of “Light Over Ancient Angkor” in Cambodia, he witnessed many child victims of landmine, and unnecessary death of children, due to lack of medical care and a poverty in the country. He decided to create a free children’s hospital in Siem Reap, Cambodia, and founded a not-for-profit organization; Friends Without A Border in New York. In 1999, Angkor Hospital for Children opened its door, since then the 50 beds pediatric general hospital treated over 650,000 children to date.

So mark your calendars for the weekend Jan 15th & Jan 17th and why not visit Barking Lizards on Saturday the 16th. All the culture you could ask for in one weekend!

Leave a comment

Filed under art, art objects, Barking Lizards, children and family photography, fine art collectables, Jene Youtt, Mary Durante Wehrhahn, Montclair State University, NY Metro art galleries, photography, Thomas Barbey

Leave a Reply

