Artful Lovers – Valentine’s Day

The holidays are a distant memory, the streets and houses have dimmed, we are in the midst of winter and heading toward Valentine’s Day.  I was never a big fan of the 1 day designated to lovers or to overtly public display of affections. I do remember the 2 unique boxes of chocolate that my mother received from my dad. A heart shaped mirror that was on her bureau for ages and the beautifully carved wooden chest that later held her treasures for the rest of her life. Gifts that lasted as long as my dad’s love. Reminders of his lasting affection and devotion. My father knew my mother was one of a kind and his love was evident.

Barking Lizards Gallery in the Williamsburg section of Brooklyn is getting ready with some unique Valentine treasures. Fine art jewelry, hand painted silk chemises, stained glass and beautifully captured photography of flowers that will be sure to please.

Jene and I celebrate our love quietly, intimately, wrapped in each others arms. A signed artist’s proof of one of his “florals” hangs on my wall reminding me daily of his feelings.

I remember how excited my coworkers would get as their flowers arrived on Valentine’s Day and 3 days later, the blooms would fade.  The trash bins would be filled with thousands of dollars worth of stems. And a week later, some couldn’t remember what they had to eat in the overly crowded, dimly lit, fancy restaurant that was mimicking intimacy.

So if you want to give a gift that last longer than a couple of days and let’s your lover know that you put extra thought into choosing something as unique as they are, you won’t be disappointed at the artful gifts that Barking Lizards has to offer. And if you are looking for something even more personal, schedule a fine art portrait session with Labor Of Love Pix.

So visit Barking Lizards or contact Mary or Jene Youtt of Labor of Love Pix to purchase a gift card for a photo session. What a wonderful way to say I Love You. We have 2 locations- midtown Manhattan & Fair Lawn, NJ for your convenience. (212) 664-1039 – (201) 703-4326.

And don’t forget to look at our personal fine art websites to purchase prints.

http://www.marywehrhahn.com

http://www.jeneyoutt.com

1 Comment

Filed under art, art objects, Barking Lizards, children and family photography, fine art collectables, gifts, Jene Youtt, labor of love, Mary Durante Wehrhahn, NY Metro art galleries, photography

One response to “Artful Lovers – Valentine’s Day

  1. I recently came across your blog and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my first comment. I don’t know what to say except that I have enjoyed reading. Nice blog. I will keep visiting this blog very often.

    Claudia

    http://paintingdrawing.net

Leave a Reply

