Playing with color temps and other features of Light Room and the female figure

After editing through a 2 hour photo session of the fine art model Keira, I played a little in light room.  I say a little because I’m still in the learning stages of what the program can do and mostly because I’m not all that skilled at it.   Mostly I convert to B&W and play with contrast and cropping to get what I want.  It’s fun and sometimes I amaze myself with minimal tweaking.

As I said she was a fine art model and I didn’t get many images to add to my “Inner Sanctum” series BUT I did get some wonderful images.

Here are a few of my faves.

This one I just converted to B&W and played with contrast.  I loved the shadows of the figure when Jene Youtt turned on the lights.  I’m in love with Jene and the magic he creates.  We shot together on this session.  He was using flash (most of the time, I was not.)  Jene wasn’t awarded 2 emmys for lighting design for nothing.  The man is good.  I admit I am in awe of his abilities and yes, sometimes he admits to getting a triffle envious of mine.

The next ones I still need to pull into PS and clone out Jene’s camera/hand and the bottom of the hairlight and the shadow on the top left.  Again basically just converted to B&W

Now I experimented a little only with white balance and tints or punched up the saturation a tad.

BUT I really like the subtleties of black & white images.  And I think they can have the wow factor.

Two of these were overexposed because I clicked my shutter at the same time as Jene and caught the extra Kelvins of his flash, but I liked them.  Pleasant accidents.

So even as they were not necessarily for a particular body of work, I think they are done well.  Others may not agree with me because technically they are not perfect, but I’ve witnessed plenty of blah images that are technically perfect.  The shadows are my favorites, at least for today.

I will probably print the B&W 3 ways.  One on matte paper on my Epson 1800R and also send them out to Adorama to print on Kodak’s Metallic Endura paper & Maybe 8 x 10″s with their silver process paper called True B&W.  Something else to consider when making adjustments is the substrait that they will ultimately end up on.   Afterall, to me the proof is in the printing.

Leave a comment

Filed under fine art nudes, Jene Youtt, Kodak Metallic Endura, lights, Mary Durante Wehrhahn, photography

Leave a Reply

