Snow daze…

As the first flakes began to fall on Sunday, I too headed out to the green grocer a few blocks away.  I had plenty of meat in the freezer but I like my produce fresh, I picked up 3 movies and some jiffy pop so we were all set to be snowed in.  Jene went out twice to take photos and to keep up with clearing the walk.  But it was an exercise in futility.

Shot from inside the warm house

I lit a fire and we took our first Christmas photos as a family (me, Jene and Shadow).  I couldn’t ask for a better ending to a lovely Christmas weekend.  I did venture out to take a few snapshots of the snow.

 

street view

snowplow

Of course Monday was a whole ‘nother story.  The neighborhood was abuzz with the sound of snow blowers and shovels scraping concrete.  I went to bed and woke up with the same aching muscles.  You know the ones you never knew you had.  Like so many others, we had to dig our way out from close to 2 feet of snow and if you count the drifts upwards to 4 feet of the white powder.  Corner property has its downside and this is one of them.  Funny in years past, the town’s plows came through several times, with budget cut backs I only saw the trucks come by once.  This is a blessing because they usually come back right after you clear out your driveway depositing boulders of hard packed snow blocking you in again.

Jene posted some of his photos on his blog Fuzzypictures

I am looking forward to the big thaw.  But it was nice to kick back and relax after a day of shoveling.

The blizzard of 2010 – something I am not looking forward to repeating in 2011.  But it could have been worse (and it was for many).  We were not stranded – just house bound.

Here’s to a happy, healthy new year.

Mary

Leave a comment

Filed under photography

Leave a Reply

