Living a dream….To Catch a Dollar

I keep going back to watch the trailer for the documentary film “To Catch a Dollar” and find myself feeling so alive.  It is uplifting to see people succeed in their dreams – their businesses with a little help.  It doesn’t take a lot to help someone.  I feel that way when Jene and I donate prints for AHC fundraisers (Ankgor Hospital for Children), knowing that the money from the sale of our prints can change the life of a child, or even save a life. A bank helping people, Grameen Bank‘s vision is to help create a world free of poverty.  Very lofty and ambitious ideal and undertaking to say the least.  But it’s working, one person at a time.

Buying a ticket to see a worthwhile documentary is a win/win situation.  Donating money to the cause is even better.  Knowing the director of photography makes me feel proud.  I met Bill Megalos last summer at his parent’s Catskill home.  He and Jene have been friends for years and kept in touch over time.   I starting reading his blog, loving the fact that in his spare time he gives haircuts to the homeless.  I was impressed with the documentary films that he worked on.  Bringing the issues to life can make a difference in the world we live in.  But this isn’t about Bill, it’s about humanity and helping those less fortunate.  I think you will learn that it really doesn’t take a lot to make a difference.

My friend Pat spent 3 weeks in Africa teaching women how to make beaded jewelry to sell in markets.  The work her friend Chris is involved with helped build a school in Arusha and a church.  Education is one way out of poverty.  A group of Stone St., NYC  establishments  (including Mad Dog and Beans donated enough money for a village in Africa to drill a well that supplied the village Pana Togo with clean drinking water.

These aren’t hand-outs, they are ways of enabling hard working people establish themselves in a sustainable manner.  “Give a man a fish and you feed him for a day; teach a man to fish and you feed him for a lifetime”.
Maimonides

I feel like I’m on a pulpit and it’s not where I like to stand, so let me climb down off my soapbox.  I just want to reach out to as many people as I can and remind them of how easy it can be to make a difference in someone’s life.  It’s as easy as going to the movies. Click here for a list of theaters across the US.  This Thursday 7:30 Nobel peace prize winner, Muhammad Yunus, Father of Modern Microfinance

I’m a proponent of supporting the arts and artists and this is just an extension of that.  It’s the mom and pop establishments that helped build this country and unfortunately paved the way for big business to come in and crush them.  I have nothing against big business (well, that’s not really true, but I understand the need for lower costs but what we don’t realize is that it costs us in other ways.)  I try to support the unfranchised shops, people who put their life’s savings into trying to make a living.

Banning together to help one another just takes a little effort.  So do what you can, making a difference in someone else’s life also makes a difference in yours.

Maybe I should be on a pulpit, I seem to keep climbing back onto it.   I tend to get just a little passionate about things, but that’s who I am.

Ok, now I shut up.  😉

Mary

Leave a comment

Filed under movie documentaries

Leave a Reply

