A weekend in the Catskills

It’s been a while since I walked a country mile and nearly forgot how lost in my thoughts I can get.  I toted my Canon D 50 along for brief stops to smell the flowers… well to photograph the wildflowers.  I was up at 5:00, left Jene asleep, sipped a cup of Italian coffee with warmed milk, then headed down the road before 6 am.  The sky was mostly grey which makes for flat, boring light but I didn’t care.  I was out with no expectations which usually brings about some pleasant surprises.   Come on a pictorial walk down the lane with me…

With the sweet smell of the morning dew, I looked along the gully to see what wild flowers were growing.  Some of these may just be weeds but I found them interesting none-the-less and began clicking away.

I repeated the prior day’s ritual, although left the house 2 hours later and headed up the road in the opposite direction.  The petals were still ladened with  rain drops and I hoped to get a few interesting images.  It is times like this that I wish I had a macro lens.  Something still on my wish list.   (hint, hint honey  😉

A pleasant day communing with nature – a prelude for our National Parks road trip at the end of the month.  Something I’ve always wanted to do.

We headed home meeting rain shower after rain shower but every now and again I looked up and saw a crack in the clouds.

BTW, Jene was driving the car…

Thank you Rosa and Roberto for your hospitality.  An enjoyable weekend inspite of the rainy weather.

Mary Durante (Wehrhahn) Youtt

2 Comments

Filed under friendship, Jene Youtt, photography, travel

2 responses to “A weekend in the Catskills

  1. Jeremy

    Great shots, always enjoy the Catskills. I like the beams of light penetrating through those clouds!

Leave a Reply

