We’re back… in NYC

After a 27 day road trip, it’s good to be back.  We thought of extending the trip but had prior commitments in NY.   Jene was invited to the 40 Year reunion of the last concert of  The Fillmore East.  Ahhhhhh the good ol’ days of sex drugs and rock n’ roll.  Anyway, he seemed pretty excited and wanted me to attend.  (I was in Barcelona when the 125th anniversary of his union – local 1’s black tie event took place and Jene was a little annoyed at me and didn’t want to attend without me so even though he was interviewed about the union, he didn’t go to the party).

So Saturday night I will meet some of the guys and gals who made NY rock.  Rock’n Roll was a big part of Jene’s life.  Jene toured Europe with the Rolling Stones either before or after the Fillmore East, timelines blur in my mind.  He also worked at the Electric Circus , toured with Chicago, Bonnie Raitt (one of my favorites) and countless others.  When we met he was working at The Beacon Theater and did a number of shows with the Allman Bros.  Band.  The Allman Bros. Band was the Fillmore Easts final concert.  I sort of feel like a fifth wheel since I wasn’t a part of that industry but I’m sure I’ll be impressed by the who’s who list of attendees.  Well if not impressed at least, I’ll be entertained by the many stories that will be recollected.

My biggest issue is what does one wear to this type of venue.  Do I dare go retro – I don’t own anything tie-dyed!  There is the old stand by of the little black dress but I can’t see this being anything more than a jeans kind of attire.  I only know one other person, Kenny Mednick who still tours in the states and internationally.  He and Jene have been friends since the working the follow spots at the Fillmore.  Kenny’s a nice guy, who isn’t home very much.  I can’t imagine keeping up with the travel schedule some bands have.  But he seems to do okay and doesn’t mind living out of a suitcase.

1 Comment

Filed under dance performances, friendship, Jene Youtt, photography

One response to “We’re back… in NYC

Leave a Reply

