Non, je ne regrette rien (I have no regrets)

Well maybe there are a few little regrets.  I certainly have made enough mistakes over the years and probably will continue to make some more.   But in retrospect, it’s been a good life and I hope it continues.

This topic arises because I just went to the funeral of my oldest cousin.  She and her husband of almost 60 years, have 3 daughters and so many wonderful grandchild/great grandchildren.  As I hugged, one of her daughters fresh tears rolled down my cheeks.  My mother died nearly 22 years ago and although I wish I could turn back the hands of time, I can’t… no one can.  But I’ve always tried to let go and I have no regrets.    Living in close proximity availed me and my siblings to be around especially at the ends of their lives.  But it wasn’t just in the end, we were there always – a family, loving, laughing and yes, arguing.  The love was unconditional.  They loved us because we were their children, we loved them because they were people with good hearts.  And that goes a long way in the arena of good memories that will last my lifetime.  Love with an open heart.

I know this is NY Metro Art Scene and this entry topic is a stretch of the imagination.  But isn’t creating a loving environment an art form onto itself.  This tune pops into my head.  “Make someone happy, just make one someone happy…. ”  and it doesn’t take a lot to make some people happy.   This year Friends Without ABorder is getting into cyberworld and has put 44 donated photography prints up on the auction block through Bidding for Good.  the auction runs through December 18th.

If you are in NYC on Monday,  Dec. 5th  7-9pm  come to the live event for Friends Without A Border’s auction.  You can bid on a wonderful piece of photography there or online of course.  A cocktail reception is being held at:

Tenri Cultural Institute of NY

43A West 13th Street  (betw 5th & 6th Avenues)

Loving with an open heart is a gift that has an ebb and flow.  What you give, you receive.  So help create a loving and healthy environment for the children of Cambodia.  The auction benefits The Angkor Hospital for Children.

               

My print Deux Orchids is itemt #9                                          Jene Youtt’s “Blue” is item # 43

Other prints of ours have sold at auction for $500 +.  Talk about a bargain, the opening bid is $50 for these beautiful prints in archival mats.

We hope to see you there on Monday.

Mary Durante (Wehrhahn) Youtt

I have started the legal process of changing my name – dropping one I borrowed 40 years ago, taking back my maiden name and adding my husband’s surname to mine.

Leave a comment

Filed under art, fine art collectables, life, love, photography

Leave a Reply

