Underwater camera (gurgle, gurgle)

Jene and I will be heading to Hawaii soon and I was toying with the idea of buying AquaBags for our Canon cameras (D50 5DMarkII &/or the G12).  I thought it would be a good idea, especially since it took months back and forth to the repair shop to get Jene’s 5D in working order after it’s river dip.  I read some reviews which weren’t all that positive so I decided to pick up the submergible FujiFilm FinePix XP20 point and shoot.  It looks simple enough to use and I am looking forward to video as we snorkel and to capture some stills.  I wish my soaking tub was deeper/bigger so I could do an underwater test to see how easy it is to switch from stills to video while swimming.   Of course I don’t expect the quality of images that National Geographic photographers capture but I’m hoping to get some neat shots.  Without realizing it I bought it in silver, even after I mentioned to Jene how barracudas are attracted to shining objects.  Hmmmmmmm, maybe I should spray it matt black.  This might be another one of those “Mary’s bright ideas gone awry”.

I will be blogging about our photographic adventures in Hawaii on my other blogsite, click on the link:  “Flights of Fancy” if you care to follow along.  this is our first trip to Hawaii and other than the usual volcanoes, lava tubes, whale watching, crater rim excursions, we also plan to spend time relaxing on the many beaches; something Jene & I rarely get to do.

1 Comment

Filed under camera equipment, photography, travel

One response to “Underwater camera (gurgle, gurgle)

  1. gee i would have thought you’d be water logged by now testing the camera. oh well we’ll have an ocean to test it out on

Leave a Reply

