Started out good and turned out better…

After spending a long day at Hasselblad / Broncolor “Shoot NYC” , educational forum with live fashion photo sessions at The Terminal Building my mind was exhausted.  Listening to various photographers and industry experts talk about their craft/field/programs etc, had my brain swirling.  Not that all the information I was receiving was new to me; more like sensory bombardment of facts and tips.  The highlight was chatting with advertising/fashion photographer, Jodi Jones  and shooting fashion under more ideal conditions than I normally shoot under.  The digital Hasse was tethered to two 24″ monitors for instant feedback and manipulation with the Phocus software (Hasse’s version of lightroom).  The  Broncolor lighting system was top notch and of course a bevy of assistants on hand:  Stefano, moving lights around, a computer tech pushing sliders on the computers, who also helped with lighting, a hair and make-up gal, and a stylist must be really nice to have on set.  (Big sigh) … to hold a high end camera in one’s hand lifts the spirit and makes you feel like you are at the top of your game.

This was shot with my iPhone not the Hasselblad.

I do wish that I could have some of the shots I took with the Hasselblad but oh well!  It was fun while it lasted.  Of course at  first I was a little intimated by holding a $30,000+ camera/lens in my hands, which was quickly pushed aside by I don’t want to put it down.  But is was time for a wardrobe change and I relinquished the Hasse to Jodi.

The images below are from a test fashion shoot that I did with model Cheonsae Kim in June…  Wish I had a hair and MUA, stylist and some fashion, other than the long black skirt hanging in the closet (which was 5 sizes too big for her).

Seminar after seminar…  all things photographic –  , Lindsay Adler, another fashion photographer, talked about the lighting and the set-ups she uses at her studio, and now I want a UV adapter for (black light make-up effect – when will I ever really need it in my realm as a fine art photographer – I don’t know but boy would it be fun to experiment with black light make-up).  a Pico Spot Projector, 2 Broncolor light bars, a P50 Narrow angle reflector (throw light)  and a satellite.  I felt like a kid in a candy store.  I want that… and this… and that too.  OMG I want everything.

Now what I’ll probably do is finally buy (two) 3 or 4′ fluorescent lights on stands to give me the continuous elongated light that the more expensive light bars give (although it would be nice to have all tungsten lighting and not mix the color temperatures).  We’ll see.  It’s not like I shoot a lot of fashion but I do find it fun. And lately I’ve been shooting more in Jene’s studio in NY than in NJ so I get to use his strobes, beauty dish and softboxes.  I do have a speedlight for my Canon EOS 50D and I just ordered the MarkII, 5D that Jene has.  No, it’s not the latest but it was on sale ($400 was a good savings) and I want/needed to upgrade to a full frame sensor.  Afterall, it’s almost Christmas and I’ve been a very good girl.  Not that better equipment makes you a better photographer…

I’m a darn good photographer, at least I think so and so does JPG.  I can’t remember how long ago it was that I entered JPG’s “Breasts, We Need to Support Them” international juried competition but one of my images was awarded 1st place.  Whoo-hoo.  I had just closed my email when Jene went on his and said honey… your image was awarded first place.  I remained calm, cool and collected on the outside while doing the “happy dance” internally.

I went to bed with feelings of grandeur, maybe utter joy with a smattering of pride of acknowledgment would be more like it.  But it felt good.

(For those who don’t know that I finally dropped my ex’s name and took on my husband’s last name, sorry for any confusion…  Mary Durante Wehrhahn and Mary Durante Youtt are one in the same person, I assure you.)

Sunday, November 4th, my work will be exhibiting along with my husband’s (Jene Youtt) at The Monroe Center for the Arts,  720 Monroe Street, Hoboken,  NJ  from noon until 6pm.  Stop by… get a jump on some Holiday Shopping.   Give the gift of art…  It says a lot about you and the person you are giving it to.

Happy Day!

Mary   (www.mdyoutt.com)

Leave a comment

Filed under camera equipment, fashion photographers, photography, technology

Leave a Reply

