Going off the deep end…

My new-founded obsession – underwater photography.  I can’t get enough of it.

Monday my granddaughters had a free afternoon which I didn’t find out about until mid-morning.  So I grabbed my camera gear, a few gowns, tops, and props, hopped in my car and drove the 100 miles to their home.  They jumped in my car and we headed 50 miles north to my friend Pat’s pool.  They donned gowns and plunged into the water.  They are not adept at holding their breath and Sara puffed out her cheeks in the majority of the captures.  If I get a couple of good images, then I’m happy.   I got to spend a 1-1/2 hours in the water with them, laughing and splashing around.  Packed up the wet clothes and did the return trip in time for their cheer practice.  Round trip for me was 300+ miles (5 hours).  Whew what a day.

©Screen Shot 2015-08-11 at 8.36.08 AM copy copy

©ROSE 2015

© SaraIMG_6328 copy copy copy

©Screen Shot 2015-08-11 at 8.57.42 AM copy

Unfortunately the pool was not crystal clear, so we’ll have to give it another go at a later date.  But the girls had fun and loved the outfits, the concept and spending time with me.

Next photo session was with my niece who spent her summers growing up in a pool so she feels comfortable underwater.  We gave it a whirl.

DCIM100GOPRO

DCIM100GOPRO

DCIM100GOPRO

I love the refracted images.  I still have more images to go through.  And I have another shoot scheduled tomorrow.

Thank you Pat and Arline for the use of your pools and for supporting my quest for art.

Leave a comment

Filed under photography

Leave a Reply

