Captured a merman…

while trolling craig’s list and my husband, Jene Youtt’s Model Mayhem casting calls for mermaids.  I got several responses from females.  All interested in underwater photoshoots but so far, after emailing my phone number and asking them to call – no response – nada.

I was hoping to pair this young man with a female model because I thought it would be interesting.  The weather is a factor in scheduling, after a number of texts, I called Hubert @ noon and picked him up about 1:45 for a hour’s shoot.  Nursing a hangover, he gave it his best and I got a few images that I added to my portfolio.  He’s not really a model, but has done some modeling for his photographer friends a while ago.  He was s pleasure to work with and a real nice guy.

IMG_6425 copy copy copy

©IMG_6415 copy

©IMG_6419 copy copy

I’m new to underwater photography and haven’t been able to figure out how other photographers manage to shoot without all the bubbles spewing from the models.  Are their images that heavily photoshopped or just experienced underwater models?

A sweet wanna-be mermaid contacted me, the selfies she sent did not impress me but after speaking to her, I couldn’t help but say yes, let’s give it a try.  She stepped out of her car with a warm hello and bright smile.  So much prettier in person.  We did a fitting at my house, she followed Jene and me to my friend, Arline’s pool and stepped into the Jessica McClintock shimmery pink ball gown.  Stunning was the word that popped into my mind.

Livy

Livy

IMG_6468 copy

IMG_6507 copy

IMG_6447 copy

The sun played peek-a-boo and then the clouds rolled in ending our session.  What I loved about Livy was her eagerness and forethought of the pose before slipping under the water.  Such a sweetheart.  I am planning a reshoot with her, using the black backdrop so that the pattern of the pool liner does not distract from the shot.

As my husband says, you never know who will walk through her your door.  So many times, you are shown portfolios and the model shows up looking nothing like their photos.  Although that was true with Livy… the selfies did not show her radiance.

Leave a comment

Filed under photography

Leave a Reply

