It’s my party and I’ll cry if I want to…

Erik performed magic on Nicodie’s long hair extensions somehow by braiding the long tresses and pulling the locks through – giving her a short intricate do.  Ara (3rd MUA) gave her a soft sultry look.  She slipped into a slinky white evening gown.  Nicodie’s scenario: Realizing the friends she invited to her birthday party must have gotten a better offer.  Grrrrrrr.   She contemplates her s0-called friends, decides to make a wish and blows out her candles.  She can’t mask her disappointment and is devastated

IMG_3291 copy copy

IMG_3278 copy copy

IMG_3378 copy copy

IMG_3341

 

So much work goes into a photoshoot.  There’s all the prep:  putting out a detailed casting call, perusing those (who feigned interest) websites,  searching for swipe, creating a mood board for the models, MUAs and hairstylists. Coordinating schedules and setting up a date for wardrobe fittings.  Figuring out how much time the stylists and MUA will be allotted, setting time slots for a smooth time flow. Then there’s the back and forth emails and texts.  People dropping out, scrambling to replacements.  Never knowing for certain who will actually show up.  This was a collaboration, no money exchanged hands so I like to feed my hungry team.  I made a soup, salad and cake (which was used as a prop).  I think on average I shot for about 30 minutes each model.  I’m not a speed shooter, continuously clicking the shutter, but I still had 500+ images to edit when all was said and done.  Narrowing them down to about 20 images per model.  Then another round of whittling the selects down to about 10 each, which I do minimal retouching on.  Normally I email each model 6-8 of my top favorites.  It’s all part of the creative process when you don’t have umpteen assistants.  When I think of the team that the commercial photographers my art directors at work used, you begin to understand the huge fee they charge per day.  On their crew:  a production manager and sometimes an assistant, lighting assistants, photo assistant, stylist, hair stylist, MUA, computer tech and of course our art directors were on hand.    Once the shoot was over, the photographer’s  job was pretty much done.  They supplied raw & jpg images that our art directors viewed to make their selects.  They didn’t do any retouching.  Retouching was done by outside suppliers.

Leave a comment

Filed under photography

Leave a Reply

