The models…

You never know until everyone shows up.

Back Story:   Last year I began working with MUAs. (make up artists)  I scheduled a MUA and 2 models.  Neither model showed.  1 texted me an hour prior to the shoot, she bailed with family issues. the other was a complete no-show.  She didn’t answer my texts or emails until a few days later and said nothing happened.  She didn’t have the address.  It was in the Call Sheet (all the info for the shoot) that I sent her twice and she acknowledged receiving the document. I’m guessing she didn’t bother reading it.  Duh….  The MUA had a hour commute, we sat and waited for an hour and then she went home.  Mind you these are TF collaborations so she wasn’t being paid for her time or effort.  She understood that things happen and didn’t hold me to blame, but I wouldn’t make that mistake again.  
My last mega fashion shoot, I had 10 models show up for the wardrobe fitting the week prior, 3 MUAs and 2 Hair Stylists were booked.  It was a scheduling nightmare.  I had sent photos of the models in the dress they would be wearing so that the MUAs could create a look that would fit their features.  I had 4 models scheduled at 11:00, 3 more an hour later and then 3 after that so the work would flow .  Only 4 models showed up for the shoot.  6 no-shows.   Some arrived later then their appointed times and I had hair and make up people standing around waiting.  We made it work and I shot a second look on two of the models.

For this Sunday’s shoot.  I wound up scheduling 5 models for this shoot, which is a tad overly ambitious for 1 MUA in a day… originally I thought of only one look per model thinking I would get only 3 designs in a weeks time from each designer of with 1  look each, After showing them the material, their excitement grew and so did the number of their creations.  5 days before the shoot, I contacted another MUA who had been interested in working together.  Waiting anxiously for him to  confirm today.

Since I am working with 2 designers and 2 MUAs I wanted to make sure I have models to shoot.  The make-up takes the longest time.  I will allot @ 50 minutes for Ara to work her magic on the first look.  Originally, my idea was to shoot 2 different hats/headpieces and dresses with the same make-up.   We’ll see how it goes and who shows up.

Top:  Janelle, (photographer unknown) ,  Anna  © Victor Travina,
Middle:  Caitie © Mary Durante Youtt, Anisa (photographer unknown)
Bottom:  Marielle (photographer unkown)

As my husband reminds me, things always work out…

An advanced shout out to the addition to our team:

MUAs: Ara  and Payton (keeping my fingers crossed)

Designer/Stylist Helen  (who has been traveling the world for 14 months (1 month, 1 country)  and Designer Fatima

If you click on their names it will take you to their links.

4 days ’til shoot day… and counting.

Mary Durante Youtt

 

1 Comment

Filed under fashion photographers, Fashion shoot, photography

One response to “The models…

Leave a Reply

