In the midst of chaos…

comes creativity.

Designer/stylist Helen set up a Face Book group so that she, Ara (MUA) and I can have 3-way text conversations.  I started the project with sending them style boards of where this shoot would be headed.  The designers were given free reign to create the hats/ headwear and the MUAs will create color palettes and make-up application techniques based off of them and my concept.  I initially set the tone, they took off running with it.  Helen shared photos of 4 of her finished creations with Ara and an internet dialog began.

Scouring the internet for swipe photos to give a visual of what collectively will be created.  Ideas and images whizzing across our screens.  A whirling blizzard.  Comments popped up as quickly as they were typed, volleyed back and forth in rapid fire succession.  We were brain-storming.  What do you think of this…. or that, how about….   My thumbs were not fast enough to get my 2 cents in before they were off on another flurry of images and ideas.  I laughed to myself.  If this were a 3 way phone conversation, I could have easily interjected.  I wanted to add some of the images I came across that mimicked my vision, but didn’t know how to attach them from my phone.  That’s when I learned that they were on their computers.  Duh…. I hadn’t realize I could use FB’s messenger via my computer.  I am so 20th century!  I switched to my MAC and could at least type faster using all 10 digits with fewer type-os.  But I still couldn’t keep up with the velocity and dexterity of these 20 somethings.  They were leaving me in the dust.  I was totally amused by their lightning speed.  And thrilled that Helen, Ara and I are tuned into each other.  For 3 strangers, we are of 1 mind.

And I friggin’ love it.  It’s a feeding frenzy, but in a good way.

 

A little sneak peek of 3 of Helen’s completed hats, I had purchase these materials before
I learned that we would be working together.
screen-shot-2017-01-10-at-6-59-31-pm
A number of her designs will to be created directly on the model

To be continue…

Leave a comment

Filed under fashion photographers, Fashion shoot, photography

Leave a Reply

